Are Jack, Sawyer and Kate completely LOST?

Fox and Lilly in LostI think you can guess what I am about to talk about on this occasion just by this rants title alone. Before I really start though I would just like to say that I used to like LOST. I have been watching it from the very first season and I, like many others, was caught up in the mysterious island and all of its secrets. From the very first moment that Jack woke up to find himself in the middle of plane crash I found myself unable to tear myself away from the screen. Although I would like to declare that I am not a ‘superfan’ that follows it religiously. I am not a ‘Lostie’ a ‘Lostite’ or whatever they call themselves nowadays. Even though there were a few dodgy episodes that left me a little apathetic about it all but on the whole LOST captured my imagination…up until now.

You see, the writers of this series told the viewers that they didn’t have a clue what was happening. They claimed to have an idea how the series ended but getting there…nope…not a clue; they just made it all up as it went along. That was okay though, while there was 20+ episodes to a season they had plenty of television time to play with. They also claimed they had enough material for about nine seasons (which is a downright lie in my opinion) and they could keep the viewers entertained for as long as was possible.

Then the bomb dropped. They went to the TV Company to find out how much more time they had, and were told “only two more seasons to play and with reduced episodes.” Oh dear.

You see, what is REALLY getting on my nerves at the moment is that the writers spent the first three seasons faffing around, trying to tell as many stories as possible that now, with the lack of ‘episode time’ they seem to have realised “Oh shit, what are we to do now? We’ve opened up so many different story line branches we don’t have enough time to look at them all! ”

So what are they doing? Well, they are trying to close as many storylines as possible as quickly as possible whilst at the same time trying to keep the mystery going. The story is being thrown at us so quickly that it’s hard to concentrate. A few answers have been given to us but sadly a few of the other minor, but interesting, plotlines have been chucked to the wayside.

It could be that I am jumping the gun a little, there might be answers to the question I have coming up, but when the writers themselves tell us that they have decided not to carry on with some of the characters stories, I don’t hold out much hope.

The writers have very little time to try and give the viewers the answers they want, and I can only hope that they know exactly where they are going with the few new plot threads opening up, but, as it stands, and even though I know I’ll watch all of the episodes right up until the end (I have given 4 years of my life to this series, I am not backing out without finding out the answers), I can honestly say I am not so sure I care anymore.

So long as I find out what that big, four toed foot is about. If they palm me off with another few second shot of a giant statue and say nothing else about it I’ll be most upset and they won’t like me when I am upset.

Arron.

Read More on LOST and The Latest Movies

One Response to “Are Jack, Sawyer and Kate completely LOST?”

  1. […] Walrus Films – Movie Trailers and News. Just another WordPress.com weblog. « Clint Eastwood To Quit Acting · Are Jack, Sawyer and Kate completely LOST? Fox and Lilly in Lost I think you can guess what I am about to talk about on this … Read this article: Are Jack, Sawyer and Kate completely LOST? « Walrus Films – Movie … […]

Leave a comment